Anonymous




Register
Login

Amiga Future

Community

Knowledge

Service

Search




Advanced search

Unanswered topics
Active topics

Last Magazine

The Amiga Future 141 was released on the November 5th.

The Amiga Future 141 was released on the November 5th.
The Amiga Future 141 was released on the November 5th.

The Amiga Future 141 was released on the November 5th.
More informations

Social Media

Twitter Amigafuture Facebook Amigafuture RSS-Feed [german] Amigafuture RSS-Feed [english] Instagram YouTube

Advertisement

Partnerlinks

copy roms through pc

This is about Amiga/Pegasos applications, problems and all other Amiga topics which don't fit elsewhere. english

Moderator: AndreasM

Post Reply
enkidoe
AFF Anwärter
AFF Anwärter
Posts: 10
Joined: 13.07.2014 - 14:31

copy roms through pc

Post by enkidoe » 13.07.2014 - 14:35

Guys,

Is it possible to use my pc to copy Roms to disk for use with my Amiga?

regards,

Thomas
Amiga Future Redaktion
Amiga Future Redaktion
Posts: 968
Joined: 03.07.2001 - 01:00
Contact:

Post by Thomas » 13.07.2014 - 16:24

No, unfortunately a PC is not able to access Amiga floppy disks. With some hard/software tricks it is possible to read them (for example http://www.winuae.net/files/stuff/adfread-1.1.zip ), but there is no way to write to them.

You need additional hardware like http://www.kryoflux.com/ or http://www.jschoenfeld.de/products/catweasel_e.htm

If you have a real Amiga (which I suppose as you are asking for real floppy disks), it's probably easier and cheaper to connect the Amiga to the PC with a serial cable and use something like this: http://www.amigaforever.com/ae/

BTW, the files you are talking about are called disk images or ADFs, but not Roms. A ROM is a chip inside the computer or a cartridge. The Amiga has only one ROM which contains part of its operating system. Unlike game consoles, the Amiga is a real personal computer and its software comes on floppy disks, not on cartridges.

enkidoe
AFF Anwärter
AFF Anwärter
Posts: 10
Joined: 13.07.2014 - 14:31

Post by enkidoe » 13.07.2014 - 16:46

many thanks for the reply. Its indeed about the adf's and i still own a 500(even 2).
Anyway, i dont have a harddisk to copy the adm's do, i dont want to keep the pc connected with the amiga. dont think thats functional.

I never had a harddisk for the amiga btw, so i am not sure whats the filesystem and i dont think the connection would be IDE so i can use an ide drive.

Thomas
Amiga Future Redaktion
Amiga Future Redaktion
Posts: 968
Joined: 03.07.2001 - 01:00
Contact:

Post by Thomas » 13.07.2014 - 18:56

You do not need a harddrive. AmigaExplorer allows to write ADFs directly to floppy disk. You only need a bootable floppy with the AExplorer program on it. And you don't need to keep the Amiga connected to the PC all the time, only during the transfer.

Regarding harddrives, an A500 does not have a harddisk controller, so you cannot connect a HDD to it. You first need an expansion with a controller. Both SCSI and IDE controllers are available, usually coming with a case to build the HDD into. The case is connect to the left side of the Amiga expanding the Amiga's width a bit.

enkidoe
AFF Anwärter
AFF Anwärter
Posts: 10
Joined: 13.07.2014 - 14:31

Post by enkidoe » 14.07.2014 - 10:26

Concerning the floppy's, can i use regular pc floppy's? Also, about the Harddisk, if i ant to buy one, do they have a specific name?

Thomas
Amiga Future Redaktion
Amiga Future Redaktion
Posts: 968
Joined: 03.07.2001 - 01:00
Contact:

Post by Thomas » 14.07.2014 - 13:47

enkidoe wrote:Concerning the floppy's, can i use regular pc floppy's?
Your Amiga probably has a DD (double density) drive. Nowadays almost all floppy disks you can buy are HD (high density) disks. Using HD disks in a DD drive might work temporarily but is not reliable. You should better try to get real DD floppy disks.

You can distinct the different types by the hole on the opposite side of the write protect switch: HD floppies have a hole on this side, DD disks haven't.


Also, about the Harddisk, if i ant to buy one, do they have a specific name?
If you are serious about your Amiga hobby, you could get one of these: http://www.vesalia.de/e_aca500.htm

Otherwise you would have to see what you can get second-hand.
Check this page: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/scsi
Those exansions with a 500 in their name should work on the A500.
Most photos on this page show the PCB of an expansion only. This is misleading. Almost every expansion comes with a case similar to the one shown on this page for example: http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/impact500mk2
The case holds the PCB and has space for a HDD if it doesn't come with one already.

The description should tell you what kind of HDD you need. Usually a 3.5" drive will do, either SCSI or IDE depending on the controller.

Be careful if the description mentions XT. An XT-IDE controller does not work with modern IDE drives. That would be AT-IDE.

Also note that AmigaOS in general has a 4GB limit. So in order to avoid problems you should use a harddrive smaller than 4GB.

Post Reply